The Hampton Roads Sports Hall of Fame was conceived as a way to honor outstanding athletes, coaches, administrators and media members who came from Hampton Roads or who made noteworthy contributions to sports in the Hampton Roads area. Inductees are chosen by a committee comprised of local media, coaches and sports enthusiasts, along with input from fans. The Hall of Fame is proudly sponsored by Navy Mutual and Max Media.

The Hampton Roads Sports Hall of Fame is currently housed in the lobby of Harbor Park in downtown Norfolk.  The plaques for the Hampton Roads Sports Hall of Fame can be viewed free of charge during normal business hours from Monday through Friday.

Chairman – Jack Ankerson
Treasurer – John Rhamstine
Secretary/Historian – Mike Holtzclaw

Hampton Roads Sports Hall of Fame Selection Committee

Jay Colley – Broadcaster, William & Mary basketball & football, Norfolk Tides
Ducky Davis – MLB scout with the L.A. Dodgers, longtime resident of Norfolk
Vicki Friedman – Award-winning women’s basketball writer
Jim Heath – Sports Information, Hampton University
Wendy Larry – Longtime head coach of Old Dominion women’s basketball
Tony Mercurio – Broadcaster, sports talk host for 26 years
Marty Miller – Norfolk State University Athletic Director
Bob Molinaro – Sportswriter for the Virginian-Pilot
Chris Perry – Writer, Flagship newspaper and sports historian
Joanne Renn – Athletic Director at Virginia Wesleyan College
Jan Trombly – Former Olympian, member of the Old Dominion Sports Hall of Fame
Manny Upton – Former star at Norfolk State University, father of baseball stars Justin and Melvin
Dominic Velardi – Business leader and former athlete in Newport News
Debbie White – Senior Associate Athletic Director, Old Dominion University
Boo Williams – Basketball star at St. Joseph’s, nation’s leading AAU coach
Ken Young – President of the Norfolk Tides